Where is Canada?

Canada to me is also a country that seems to be hidden in the shadows of others. Whether Canada is being controlled by Great Britain or hidden under (well actually above) the USA as a ‘little brother‘. It takes a lot for Canada to get notice, whether it is something good like the 2010 Winter Olympics or the embarrassing riots of 2011. Even in film Canada is hidden. There are quite a few movies and tv shows that are filmed in the Canada, but instead of these shows being based here they are pretending that they are in the USA.

As a shy person I relate to Canada in the sense that I sometimes feel as though I am hidden behind people who are much louder and involved than me.

My Canada is also mixture of the city and nature. It is a place where you can spend half your day in the mall and  the other walking through the woods or on the beach.  It is also a place of multiculturalism. Sometimes I watch movies or read books where people are bullied because of their nationality and I am proud that this is not something that happens in my Canada. Maybe I have just gone to good schools or am in the right generation for multiculturalism, but when I look around everyone is different and no one seems to care that we are all so different, but rather embraces it. I am not ignorant enough to think this is the case everywhere in Canada’s history  (turning down the MS St. Louis and the Komagata Maru, just to name a few of Canada’s not-so-nice incidents in history), but today, in the Canada I live in, seeing so many different cultures all rolled into one country is something I am proud of.

Before I reach my word limit I better talk about my favourite authors ‘in Canada’. When I got to this  in the criteria  I was slightly stumped. Have I read anything by authors ‘in Canada’? Again I came to the conclusion that Canada is hidden behind the vast history and legacy of other nation’s literature so that our literature is hidden in the background.

Because of this I have read very little Canadian literature and what little I have read has been children literature (when I read it I was a child… so does that just count as literature then? Haha!) As a young child my absolute favourite author was Robert Munsch, but I also loved Mordecai Richler and his Jacob Two-Two series. I have yet to read any of Richler’s adult literature, but hope to read something of his soon. I also enjoyed reading Kenneth Oppel and Farley Mowat (who are both fantastic at describing landscapes and Canadian scenery), but again only their young-adult fiction.

As a student I studied Margaret Atwood multiple times but the focus was usually only on her poem ‘Disembarking on Quebec’. I have read her novel ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ for a class book club, which I found to be interesting. I am also very familiar with John McCrae’s ‘In Flanders Field’, but isn’t every Canadian?  Every Remembrance Day this poem can be heard all across Canada. You can even read a quotation of it on the ten dollar! It is such a wonderful poem! In school I also studied Robert Service and ‘The Cremation of Sam McGee’ which I thoroughly enjoyed.  If you don’t feel like reading Johnny Cash has done all the reading for you here . The video even comes with paintings by Ted Harrison! As I read ‘Green Grass Running Water’, Thomas King is quickly becoming an author that I may add to my favourites list.

That’s all for now!

Jessica

One thought on “Where is Canada?

  1. A great post, thanks jessica – I love both the Cremation of Sam McGee AND Johnny Cash… . Your first link to the Conservative Truth.org is a little disturbing, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

