So Many Choices!

I am not entirely sure what book I want to read. For English Honours I will have to read Tomson Highway’s Kiss of the Fur Queen. I don’t have to read it until March though. The book sounds interesting, plus if I read it for this class it might be interesting to see the different points of views that I get just because I am studying it in a different class. But will that sort of count as cheating reading the same book for two different classes? Or is it like hitting two birds with one stone?

I am really interested in reading something by Mordecai Richler as I said in Where is Canada. I have looked up the The Apprenticeship of Buddy Kravitz, Barney’s Novel , Joshua Then and Now and Solomon Gursky Was Here and all four sound pretty interesting.

I tried to read Life of Pi a while ago but for some reason was unable to finish the book. I have heard many great things about it, so maybe it is about time I tried reading it again.

The one last book I can think of that might be good is Obasan by Joy Kogawa. I was told by a friend that it is about the Canadian-Japanese people who were forced to go into the internment camps during WWII.

There are so many possibilities… I just can’t choose!

Plus as I read everyone else’s blogs and what they want to read my list grows longer and longer!

* Just as an update, my group and I have decided to read …. none of these books. We are actually going to be reading the Gum Thief. I am really excited about this because usually I read books that are based in places places outside of Canada or if they are in Canada, ones not based in Vancouver. It will be interesting to see the difference in perspectives that I have with the author concerning Vancouver. And possibly to see not only Canadian-ness-ness (as Erika says), but maybe a little Vancouver-ness-ness.

** Another update… We are actually going to be reading Barney’s Version by Mordcai Richler. Here is our site: http://jjjbarneysversion.wordpress.com/. This novel is placed in Montreal, so it will be interesting to see how I consider Canadian-ness in Vancouver compares to what Canadian-ness means in Montreal.

One thought on “So Many Choices!

  1. I am glad you chose Richler in the end …. this will make for a more interesting class for all of us and enable a discussion that, as you say — will take us to the fascinating city of Montreal ….

Leave a Reply

